Acropolis Rally of Greece

The first edition of Rally of Greece was held in 1953. It is one of the oldest races in the World Rally Championship schedule. Today’s route is about 1200km long, and is divided into 16 special stages.

Rally takes place in central Greece, and its base is located in the town of Loutraki. Rally route passes through scenic mountain roads where the surface is covered by gravel. Cars must be very well prepared to ride at very high speed special stages, lined with stones, which could interfere in the race. In addition, drivers and pilots must be prepared for the enormous heat because the temperature inside the cockpit can claim up to 50 degrees Celsius.

Rally of Greece is normally held in June. It is also known under the name of the Acropolis Rally. In the past, on its routes won: Sebastien Loeb, Marcus Gronholm, Petter Solberg, Markko Martin, Colin McRae, Richard Burns, Carlos Sainz, and Miki Biasion, Didier Auriol, among others.