Rally of Great Britain

Traditionally, the finale of World Rally Championship season will take place during the Rally of Great Britain. In the championship schedule it has been marked since 1990 and takes place in Wales. Its route is over 1600km long and is divided into 17 special stages.

Special sections run through the gravel surface. Many times drivers stand up to them in an intense rain, which further raises the bar.

The rally is located in Cardiff (image above), the capital of Wales. Also special stages at the beginning and the end of rally run there.

The Rally of Great Britain also has a sad story. In 2005, on the fifteenth special stage, the Estonian driver Markko Martin driving Peugeot 206 WRC went off the road and hit a tree. His pilot, Briton Michael Park died in an accident.

So far, the winners of Rally of Great Britain are: Sebastien Loeb, Mikko Hirvonen, Marcus Gronholm, Petter Solberg, Richard Burns, Colin McRae, Armin Schwarz, Juha Kankkunen and Carlos Sainz, among others.