Rally Portugal

Rally Portugal has been held continuously since 1968. In 1973 it got to the schedule of rounds for World Rally Championship and remained there for 29 years. In 2002 - 2006 it stopped being one of the qualifiers but in 2007 it came back as one. Currently, it is on the schedule every two years. Until the 90ies, routes run of asphalt as well as gravel. At the moment, the trail goes only through gravel road. In its long history, Rally of Portugal has been voted the best rally of the world five times.

The rally is located in Vilamoura, situated in the Algarve region in the south of the country. Two special stages take place at the Algarve Stadium.

In 2007, after the return of Rally of Portugal to the cycle of world championships, Sebastien Loeb was the one who triumphed. In the past, the rally was won by: Tommi Mäkinen, Richard Burns, Colin McRae, Carlos Sainz, Miki Biasion, Hannu Mikkola and Markku Alen, among others.

Rally Portugal is one of the most spectacular rallies in the World Rally Championship cycle.